(CLEVELAND) – It was the most memorable night in Cleveland sports, as it seems to be every year. The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission hosted the 14th annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel on Thursday evening.

The awards ceremony reflects on the best in Cleveland sports be it the three professional teams in town the Browns, Indians and Cavaliers as well as individuals on a pro and amateur level.

Dinner was followed by the awards presentation hosted by Ohio State legend and NFL Hall of Famer Chris Carter.

The Greater Cleveland Sports Awards awarded the High School Athlete of the Year, the Amateur Athlete of the Year, the Collegiate Athlete of the Year and the Professional Athlete of the Year. Along with those the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to former Cleveland Browns quarterback Bernie Kosar and the Courage Award was given to Westlake competitive cheerleader Molly Miller.

Some of the individuals recognized included Cavaliers All-Star Kyrie Irving, Browns wide receiver Josh Gordon and PGA golfer Jason Dufner. Collegiate athletes that were recognized during the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards included Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook, Ohio State cornerback Doran Grant and University of Akron basketball player Rachel Tecca.

Other “celebrities” on hand included Indians manager Terry Francona, former Ohio State running back Maurice Clarett and Browns quarterback Brian Hoyer.

On WTAM 1100 that evening Bob Frantz and Andre Knott hosted “Sportsline” backstage talking to everyone honored that night.

During the ceremony, the Cleveland Cavaliers announced that Irving will be the Eastern Conference starting point guard.

- Nick Camino